2018 Pacific Crest Trail Partnership

Pacific Crest Trail Bridge of the Gods
Photo by Krystian “Snap” Repolona

Today is the 50th anniversary of the designation of the country’s first two National Scenic Trails – the Appalachian and Pacific Crest Trails. It’s impossible to measure how much enjoyment they’ve brought to the millions of people who have sought adventures big and small on them. And likely just as difficult to know how many people have put in countless hours of work into advocacy and maintenance on their behalf. The Pacific Crest Trail Association is one such group that’s done a lot of heavy lifting over the years.

The PCTA is a non-profit of route stewards who monitor, care for and promote this 2,650-mile trail that wanders from Mexico to Canada through California, Oregon, and Washington. They tirelessly work to ensure that it’s available for hikers long into the future. That sounds pretty good to us, and we’re happy to have partnered with them again for the third year.

And, just like we did with the Continental Divide Trail Coalition, we’ve teamed up to make special PCTA stuff sacks that feature the association’s emblem. Our ultralight Drawstring Stuff Sacks can find a home and use in any pack, and they’ll be available with PCTA memberships and other promotions.


Join the PCTA and ATC for a celebration of the 50th anniversary of the designation of our nation’s first two National Scenic Trails: the Appalachian and Pacific Crest Trails. With host Jennifer Pharr-Davis and special guest Cheryl Strayed.

Date: October 2, 2018
Time: 11am-3pm PDT (2pm-6pm EST)
Rebroadcast: 4pm-8pm PDT  (7pm-11pm EST)
Webcast Link: ATPCT50.org

And if you haven’t, consider contributing to the PCTA mission as well at PCTA.org.